Raspberry ketone – yay or nay?

Raspberry ketone is another new miracle weight loss product that’s really finding it’s place in today’s weight loss market.

rasberry

Raspberry ketone is a natural compound found in raspberries that gives the berries their scent, until recently it was only used in the perfume and food industries. The science behind this fat loss claim is hinged on raspberry ketone causing the body to produce more adiponectone, a protein that helps to regulate metabolism and break down stored fat.

So, is it all it’s made out to be?

– To date, there have been no human studies showing that raspberry ketones burn fat or benefit weight loss

– There have been a few studies that have found the ingestion of raspberry ketone has been linked to fat loss… IN RATS!  These studies also used an incredibly high dose of raspberry ketone relative to the rats body weight (20g per kg of body weight). I appreciate that these are positive results but that doesn’t mean the same results will be found in humans.

– It’s not been approved by the FDA (US food and drug administration)

– No one has looked at the long term side effects…who knows what could happen if you keep taking them long term, what happens when you stop taking them etc etc

– There are concerns that since raspberry ketones are thought to stimulate the release of noradrenaline/norepinephrine, there’s a possibility that supplementation could be harmful to people with certain chronic conditions; hypertension, asthma, CHD etc as noradrenaline/norepinephrine is a type of nervous system chemical that is known to increase blood pressure.

The lack of evidence makes it impossible to draw any conclusions. There is currently nothing to suggest that raspberry ketones will aid with weight loss or provide any health benefits. Any claims suggesting they will aid with weight loss are just marketing.

41 responses to “Raspberry ketone – yay or nay?

  1. Howdy! Someone in my Myspace group shared this website with us so
    I came to take a look. I’m definitely enjoying the information.
    I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers!

    Superb blog and wonderful design.

  2. I drop a comment when I especially enjoy a article on
    a site or if I have something to add to the discussion.
    Usually it is triggered by the passion communicated in the post I read.
    And after this article Raspberry ketone – yay or nay? | abieleanor’s Blog.
    I was excited enough to leave a thought 🙂 I actually do
    have 2 questions for you if it’s allright. Could it be only me or
    do some of these responses look like left by brain dead folks?

    😛 And, if you are writing at additional online social sites, I would like to follow you.

    Could you list the complete urls of your public pages like your Facebook page,
    twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

    • I’m happy to answer any questions 🙂
      I’m currently only blogging on here and I do find it really interesting that most of the lovely comments being left are from blogs advertising raspberry ketone?!! Go figure…

  3. I’m amazed, I have to admit. Seldom do I come across a blog that’s both equally educative and interesting, and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on the head.
    The problem is something that not enough folks are speaking intelligently about.
    Now i’m very happy that I stumbled across this during my search for something concerning this.

  4. I’m very pleased to discover this web site. I want to to
    thank you for ones time just for this fantastic read!!

    I definitely loved every part of it and I have you saved to
    fav to see new information on your website.

  5. I’m impressed, I have to admit. Seldom do I encounter a blog that’s both equally educative and interesting, and let me tell you, you have
    hit the nail on the head. The problem is something too few
    folks are speaking intelligently about. I am
    very happy I found this during my search for something regarding this.

  6. Great blog! Do you have any recommendations for aspiring writers?
    I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost
    on everything. Would you suggest starting with a free
    platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m completely
    confused .. Any recommendations? Thanks!

  7. You could definitely see your skills within the article you write.
    The world hopes for even more passionate writers such
    as you who aren’t afraid to mention how they believe.
    Always go after your heart.

  8. Terrific work! This is the kind of info that are supposed to be shared across the net.
    Shame on Google for now not positioning this post upper!
    Come on over and discuss with my site . Thank you =)

  9. Admiring the time and effort you put into your blog and in depth
    information you present. It’s nice to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same unwanted
    rehashed information. Excellent read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  10. Great website you have here but I was curious about if you knew of any message boards that cover the same topics discussed
    here? I’d really love to be a part of online community where I
    can get comments from other knowledgeable individuals that share the same interest.
    If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Kudos!

  11. Great post. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m impressed!

    Very helpful info particularly the last section 🙂 I deal with such info a lot.
    I used to be seeking this certain info for a long time.
    Thanks and good luck.

  12. This is really interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger.
    I have joined your rss feed and look forward
    to seeking more of your excellent post. Also, I have shared your site in my social networks!

  13. Good post. I learn something totally new and challenging on sites I stumbleupon everyday.
    It’s always useful to read through articles from other writers and use a little
    something from other websites.

  14. Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles
    as long as I provide credit and sources back to your site?
    My blog site is in the exact same area of interest as yours and my users would definitely benefit from some of the information you provide here.
    Please let me know if this okay with you. Thank you!

  15. Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this blog.

    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s tough to get
    that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and visual appeal.
    I must say you have done a great job with this. In addition, the blog loads extremely
    quick for me on Firefox. Excellent Blog!

Leave a Reply

